Business Educational Employment Legal Nation Telangana

EC releases schedule for Rajya Sabha bypoll in Telangana

Hyderabad: The Election Commission has announced schedule for bye-election to the vacant Rajya Sabha seat in Telangana on Thursday. While the notification will be issued on May 12 kickstarting filing of nominations, the polling for the Rajya Sabha seat will be held on May 30.

The polling will be held from 9 am to 4 pm. The counting of votes will be organised on the same day at 5 pm, followed by announcement of the results.

According to the release, the nominations will be accepted from May 12, and the last date for filing nominations is May 19. The nominations will be scrutinised on May 20 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature would be May 23.

The Rajya Sabha seat fell vacant following the resignation of TRS MP Banda Prakash. Upon election, the term of the new member will expire on April 2, 2024.