Congress MLA claims BJP approached him, offered a ministerial berth

Written by IWP

Bengaluru : Karnataka delivered a hung Assembly on Tuesday with no party getting a clear majority to form government in the state. While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single-largest party, winning 104 seats, the Congress and the Janata Dal Secular stood second and third with wins on 78 and 38 seats respectively.

Even before full results could come in, intense political parley began with the Congress and the JDS declaring that they would jointly form the government in Karnataka. However, the single largest party refused to budge, and ultimately both the sides met Governor Vajubhai Vala and staked claims to form the government. As the Governor is yet to give his decision on the issue, it’s expected to be another day of the race to Vidhan Soudha.

Here are the updates:

16 May 2018, 09:12 AM
Basavaraj Bommai of the BJP says the party has approached no individual. “Political scenario will unfold in next two to three days. It depends on development in political parties. As of now, we aren’t approaching any individuals but politics is art of possibility,” he said.

16 May 2018, 09:05 AM
Congress leader Amaregouda Linganagouda Patil Bayyapur has claimed that he was approached by the BJP and promised a ministry. He, however, added that he would remain part of the JDS-Congress alliance government. He said, “I got a call from the BJP leaders. They said come to us and we’ll give a ministry to you. We’ll make you a minister. But, I’m going to stay here. HD Kumaraswamy is our Chief Minister.”

16 May 2018, 09:00 AM
BJP leader KS Eswarappa has claimed that the party is in touch with some MLAs of the Congress and the JDS. Speaking to mediapersons, he said, “Many Congress and JDS MLAs are upset over the parties joining hands. They will not respect the decision and join hands with the BJP.”

16 May 2018, 08:54 AM
Union ministers JP Nadda and Dharmendra Pradhan were made observers for Karnataka by the BJP high commande on Tuesday. The legislative party meeting of the BJP is slated to be held at 11 am in Bengaluru, says news agency ANI.

16 May 2018, 08:51 AM
Election Commission on Tuesday night said that Jagadish Shettar of the BJP was declared winner in Hubli Dharwad constituency as paper slip count showed the same. Issuing a statement in this regard, the EC had said:

16 May 2018, 08:47 AM
Karnataka BJP leader KS Eswarappa says that there is no doubt that the party will form government in the state. He said, “There is no doubt we will form government, 100% we’ll do that. Wait and watch. Results came out only yesterday. It has been only a day. See what can happen in Karnataka in a day.”

16 May 2018, 08:38 AM
Congress MLAs in Karnataka arrive at Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee office in Bengaluru for party legislative board meeting.

All India Congress Committee General Secretary & MP, KC Venugopal and other Congress MLAs arriving at Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) office for party legislative meting.

Former chief minister Siddaramaiah to conduct a meeting of newly elected Congress and Janata Dal Secular MLAs today.

About the author


Leave a Comment